Yours Truly, by Kirsty Greenwood (review)

Newly engaged Natalie Butterworth is an easy-going girl.  She’ll do anything for a quiet life and if telling a few teensy white lies keeps her friends and family happy, then so what? It’s not like they’ll ever discover what she’s really thinking. Until one night, thanks to a pub hypnotist, Natalie’s most private thoughts begin to bubble up and pop out of her mouth. Things get very messy indeed, especially when some sticky home truths offend her fiancé.

Natalie must track down the hypnotist before her wedding is officially cancelled. So along with bad influence bestie Meg, Natalie finds herself in the Yorkshire Parish of Little Trooley – a small village bursting with big secrets, nosy old folk and intriguing Wellington-wearing men.

When the girls get stuck in the village with no means of escape and no way to break the hypnotist’s spell, Natalie is forced to face the truths she has been avoiding her whole life…

Yours-Truly-cover
First of all I HAVE to visit Little Trooley, it sounds incredibly quaint!  Oh wait there’s a Trooley beach apparently….even better!  I just need about a thousand notes to fly there (oops getting sidetracked) ahhhh holiday 🙂

Little Trooley sounds like the sort of village that everyone dreams of ending up in, but to end up in a pub with a handsome welly wearing, folk dancing manager of a pub.  I think that Natalie is a lovely girl, thinking that she can ‘settle’ for being a sandwich maker however makes me feel sad.  The fact that her best friend whisks her down The Pear and Partridge that fatal night, that changes her life completely is hilarious.

I heavily recommend this to all you chick lit story lovers, this story had me laughing, sighing, giggling and sniggering and nearer the end saying and thinking ‘oh she didn’t!’ and ‘will she?’ I found this book extremely hard to put down, much so to the point that I was back late from lunch one day at work last week!  Luckily no one noticed because they were so taken back with the rain (yes I know rain!?) and I sat up in bed one night finishing it much to my husbands disgrace (not because of THAT, because I had the light on and he can’t sleep with the light on!)

What-is-hypnosis
I think that Honey deserves a trophy for her acting ‘lady in strife’, although she played her part well I couldn’t have thought of a better person that could end up where she did.  Even though I couldn’t see her, I think her dress sense is terrible!  Dionne, ah little Dionne and dear little Jean-Paul Gaultier, who on earth would call her dog this?  That would be Dionne, Natalies sister who always looks for approval in everyone she meets (and also a bit of a drama queen), but when she found love she found love and they make such an adorable couple (Natalies words, but I agree)!

This whole story, is a feel good story with a twist, like a lime in a diet coke, or a hit of chilli in some chocolate….see all that cooking Natalie had done in the kitchen with Riley has had an influence on me, I’m off to do some cooking myself now where’s that tin of beans……?

PS. If you have a Kindle, currently on offer on amazon http://www.amazon.co.uk/Yours-Truly-ebook/dp/B00CU8PW0I/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1375642916&sr=1-1&keywords=yours+truly

