Millie and the American University & American Wedding, Annabel Scott (combined)

I originally picked these two books for the author, having recently connected with her by the powers of twitter I had taken an interest also because of her name (immature I know but I can’t help it!), I mean what are the chances??

However, after reading the first book I was enjoying it so much I hadn’t come up for air so went straight into the follow up, so I’m eagerly anticipating the next two in the series Millie and the American Proposal (due out early 2014) and Millie and the British Wedding (out late 2014).

Millie and the American University

university

Millie’s always dreamt of being American, thanks to an obsession with US Television shows. As the only English girl on campus, she realises that she could live her very own American dream: joining a sorority and bagging an all American boyfriend. Only when Millie finds a friend in Kristen, she alienates Casey and Jen, the sorority girls who’d taken her under their wing. Millie discovers that Casey is not a woman to be crossed, and she soon finds herself living an American nightmare with her scholarship under threat, and the all American boyfriend ending things before they really start.

university image

This book was especially enjoyable to myself as when I was younger I always dreamed of studying in the states and living out there would have been a dream come true, having not only being led through the university studies, social events, relationships and partying that Millie participated in but also I loved reading the email updates she would send back to her friends in England, oh how I miss that (damn you Facebook for making me lazy!)

Kristen and Millie had a wonderful friendship and I can understand Millie’s need to study but also enjoyed hearing all about the shananigans (yes I did say that word) that went on alongside of their friendships, meeting and getting to know Joel and of course the lovely Rob.  Hilarious how Millie wasn’t sure who he was straight away, because she was drunk almost every time she met him (so funny) and I did smirk to myself trying not laugh out loud in front of people around me as I read (especially the husband)!!

I loved how Annabel (not me) wrote this, keeping the suspense and passion in the story yet I smiled most of the way through it.  I would have loved to experience what Millie went through but now I’ve read it I can confidentially say that I’ve almost learnt what American students go through.

Millie and the American Wedding

American Wedding

Millie accidentally accepts an invitation to be a bridesmaid at an American Wedding in New York.  It’s Millie’s worst nightmare.  Not only has she slept with the groom, but her ex boyfriend (the one that got away) is the best man and he’s married.

As her friend Kristen, gets ready for the best day of her life, Millie gears up for the worst week of hers.

wedding

Well who’d have thought it?  Joel and Kristen getting together, but after all these years (although they had a few rough patches like most people) they are now getting married!  BUT having someone other than Millie to be the Maid of Honour had me slightly hurt for her.  (I do get carried away sometimes!)  Although having said that going by her history of clumsiness (and yes it continues in this book, watch out for the heels and long dresses!) I kind of don’t blame Kristen!

Rob is now married (devastated I was) but we learn in this book that it could possibly be fate and meant to be, even if Collette (Robs new wife) was a complete witch to our Millie.  And the shock of all shocks of that news of, coming from….. ah ah ah, now THAT would be telling, BUT you won’t see it coming!

So I tell you now, all chic lit lovers, get out there and download it to your kindle and/or eReaders you will LOVE LOVE LOVE this, it comes highly recommended from Moi!

Makes me more proud to be an Annabel!

annabel

 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Millie-American-University-ebook/dp/B00E2SE534/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1381738927&sr=8-5&keywords=anna+bell

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Millie-American-Wedding-Annabel-Scott-ebook/dp/B00737RP7Y/ref=pd_sim_kinc_2

Leave a Reply

