Emma’s Secret, Steena Holmes

For two years, Megan, Peter, and their two older daughters, Alexis and Hannah, dream of nothing but being reunited with the family’s youngest child, Emma, who was kidnapped just before her third birthday. When Emma is miraculously found living with an elderly couple just a few miles from the family home, they are hopeful that her return will heal the wounds her disappearance created.

But Emma is vastly different from the sunny toddler they remember. She barely remembers her parents or her older sisters. She is quiet and withdrawn, and, worst of all, longs for the very people who kidnapped her.

Megan is consumed with bitterness, while Peter works later and later nights in the company of his gorgeous business partner. And in the middle of everything, Megan’s best friend has become suddenly distant and secretive.

Then a chance encounter in town leads to a secret that changes everything again for Emma. And Peter must decide between the happiness of his youngest daughter and the trust of his family.

emma's secret

Having read about this https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17944644-emma-s-secret I decided to give it a go as it’s not my usual type of reading, however I am quite open minded!  I do usually like a book that I can escape things and worried as I started to read it as it was quite a sad story about a little girl that goes missing, but Megan kept me gripped.  Mainly because of the way the character gave every feeling and emotion as she went through the motions of loosing a child as well as being able to manage loving the other two and her supportive husband Peter the same as she always has without loosing sight of things.

I did enjoy the story, and felt Dottie had a heart of gold but bless her she was in early stages of Alzheimer’s and that couldn’t have been easy for Jack.  Jack was a lovely character, it made me think of my granddad and for a moment I missed him so much as I was only young when I lost him.

I can definitely relate to most of the characters in the book, but my favourite would have to be Alexis the little girl who loves her golf and has the best birthday ever….that definitely made me smile.  I loved how Daisy brought Emma out of her shell, and just goes to show that dogs are a mans/womens/girls/boys best friend!

daisy

It was wonderfully written and I will look out for further books from Steena Holmes!  I did notice that there are a couple of extra books that follow on from this one but I’m not sure I’ve read them in the right order so if you do read this and you want to do the series please check because I think I should’ve started with ‘Dear Jack’!

This was beautifully written and I highly recommend it if you like fiction, and I can see why it’s popular.

Leave a Reply

