Bah Humbug, Heather Horrocks

415q0F7HkcL

Lexi Anderson is an up-and-coming, Martha Stewart-type TV hostess whose two kids love the Jared Strong adventure novels, which happen to be written by their new neighbour, Kyle Miller.

For the first time in his writing career, Kyle has writer’s block…until he sees the snowman on his lawn and realises it’s the perfect solution to his plot problem. He digs in and discovers two things: one, his villain’s weapon will fit inside a snowman’s body, and two, this particular snowman was supposed to be the backdrop for Lexi’s next show!

From this improbable beginning comes friendship, but can there be a happy ending for a woman who is afraid to get close again and a man who has shadows from his childhood?

Families join together and hearts are healed as this couple goes walking in a winter wonderland.

bah humbug

When I first downloaded this book, I wondered if I should wait till nearer Christmas to read it?  After deciding that in fact I have the patience of a child in a toy shop I loaded the book to my kindle and I took it off on holiday with me in the sunshine, which yes was strange reading about Christmas whilst sat in the sun!!

I would love Lexi’s job, being able to do interior design is one thing but being on television and doing it….maybe I should change my career?  But, having said that Kyle also has a job that I would love, writing childrens books!  My first impression of both of them was quite open, being that they were so unlike each other, Lexi loving Christmas and decorating and Kyle not liking Christmas.  I mean, who would live on Christmas Street and not like Christmas??  He does have good reasons, but even so if lived in Christmas Street, Lexi would have competition!

When characters clash I always love the progress of them coming together and seeing how they come together, which I won’t give away in my review but I love how Christmas, that magical time of year is the time it happens.

Lucky for Keefe and Alyssa they now have Lexi to thank for…..ah ah ah, how could I spoil the story!  You’ll have to download it for yourself and enjoy it, and if I were you do it over Christmas so you can be in the ‘moment’.

christmas-tree

The only thing I didn’t like (sorry I HATE doing this), was that I would have liked to known what the future held for both families?  So maybe if there’s an ‘Easter’ follow up or something like that sorry don’t mean to put words in your mouth!  Also, how would we find out if Jared EVER finds out that Melissa is in love with him??

Loved the story overall, thank you for giving me a story to escape into and being free made it even more special!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Humbug-Christmas-Street-Romantic-Novella-ebook/dp/B005ME39HU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1384344383&sr=8-1&keywords=bah+humbug+kindle

Leave a Reply

