Dandy Day, Annie Wood

Dandy Day is a thirty-five year old free-spirited, commitment-phobic, Venice Boardwalk roller skating waitress. When Dandy is suddenly dumped by her therapist, right when they were on the brink of figuring out why her relationships last only a whopping three months, Dandy decides to take her relationship issues into her own hands. With the reluctant help of her lifelong best friend, Simon, Dandy tracks down her exes one by one and does a relationship autopsy on each of them in order to get to the bottom of her relationship challenged life.

Dandy Day Book Cover

I recently joined Goodreads, being not only an avid reader but because I thought it would help to communicate with fellow writers and give me a better understanding of how the world of publishing and writing happens.  One day I wrote on one of the forums about self promotion of books on Amazon and was approached by a writer called Annie Wood.  She told me about a book that she had recently written called Dandy Day, just hearing the title it sounded cute and and happy and then seeing a picture of a girl wearing skates on the cover instantly had me interested (I do hate judging a book by it’s cover, but there was something about this!)

We swapped email addresses and before I knew it her book was downloaded on my kindle and I had sent my book over to her.  Unfortunately a few days later she later emailed me extremely apologetically and said that due to work commitments she didn’t think she would have time to read my book as soon as she would’ve liked.  As I had looked forward to reading I decided to go ahead and read it, which I have been over the past couple of weeks.

This is a story of a girl called Dandy Day, who, by the way, hates the phrase fine and dandy and, to be honest I don’t blame her.  She’s a happy go lucky girl who skates to and from and at work (all the waitresses do) and yes, before you guess, it’s set in LA because most people in LA skate of course (I would LOVE to do that!).

Skates

It’s a lovely story, I felt like I really knew the characters.  Dandy is so flippant and has a bad habit of dropping things, yet ironically she skates?!  Simon her best friend, runs a bar and writes.  I loved how Annie separated the characters, so that you were able to keep up with the goings ons between them.  It also paints a bigger picture of what their life is like, which I thought would also make this book appealing to older teenage readers (I know my eighteen year old niece would love this story!)

Debbie is the other friend, she’s close friends with Dandy and works at the same place as her and although Debbie knows Simon, they’re not close friends like Dandy is with him.  So when they were out alone without Dandy understandably Simon was pretty anxious (you will have to download to find out why!)  I recommend this funny book with many antics that will leave you laughing out loud and sighing awwwww!

Venie Beach

Lesson to be learnt from this book, don’t look behind to what you had, but look to the future to what you have!!

exboyfriend

 

Annie, let me know when you’re next book is done please!!

Leave a Reply

