Start again Monday?

image

I am just wondering whether I’ve had too much to drink today, caffeine that is, NOT alcohol (pah I wish!) as I hear the kettle boiling so change of plan I’ll have a glass of water instead.  I’m so conscious of what is going in my mouth lately (steady!) and this is because of recent sessions on a weight loss course at the gym. Each week this guy chats to us (and does actually chat and not tell us off for eating the wrong things), this week we talked about those evil carbohydrates, that food group that  doesn’t agree with me. Although after listening to him, not so much evil. Once I got my head around the fact that some carbs are good for you I realised what he was saying, I never saw a root vegetable as a carbohydrate as my automatic reaction has always been; bread, pasta, rice (you get the picture) so when he said this I did think that actually I am eating carbs all the time (and that’s before I’ve got to my mums home made cake!!) I hate to be the one to sound a bit slow here, but also baked beans!! What have I bean thinking???? (ok ok, it wasn’t that funny!)

image

It’s not like a class that I weigh in every week (although that’s what I was expecting when I went along on the first week) after the week before the first week he asked us all to attend just to be quickly measured, yes with an actual tape measure (oh the sheer horror when I realised this).  This is normally my most humiliating moment having someone put a tape measure around my stomach but when he did it I couldn’t help thinking, hang on, I’m doing this for a good reason surely it shouldn’t bother me that much. I didn’t even look at the numbers, I looked away as he typed it all into his laptop and cringed when he measured my thighs (they are literally tree trunks!) I thought it would be worse because he was a guy, I mean how many blokes do you meet that are into this sort of thing…..most classes have a woman as a leader (sorry to be sexist, but it’s true!) But not only does he know his stuff (I know they wouldn’t have put someone in to do it that didn’t know but….) he’s also sympathetic to the fact that all our lives our different, he understands that I work in an office and can’t just go off and cook myself some chicken and steamed vegetables (ok, we have a restaurant at work, but by the time I even get served I would need to be back at my desk!) He also doesn’t patronise us, I don’t know about you (yes, I know you’re interested in this stuff because you’re reading it) but there’s one thing I hate when you go to something like this is when they tell you what you already know but in a way that makes you want to slap them. He actually sounds like he wants to help and doesn’t expect too much from us (which is the best feature for any sort of dietician, gym coach, nutritionist or diet class consultant (take note people!)

But having just done week 2 it inspired me to do was he was saying which was eat for energy so I ate cake all day (ha ha, I had you there!) On a serious note I actually took his advice by starting with a cooked breakfast which consisted of scrambled egg, baked beans and ham and as I’m eating it I can actually hear his voice saying “protein…good”, “carbs in the beans…good” (in my head his voice sounds a cross between Tarzan and Tim from Home Improvement) so you’re getting the picture? Then lunch I was a bit naughty, but it was my Friday treat (always gotta have a friday treat) which was BLT sandwich and chips (in my defence the bread was sour dough and the chips were sliced very thinly!) and for tonights dinner I had a small bowl of chilli with a small potato.  I have just looked back and read over it thinking, actually that looks a lot but then I realise I haven’t picked on anything else all day, which is good for me believe me I have a drawer of snacks at work!

So I’ve decided that from Monday (yeah that old cliche) I’m going to do this.

image

