Black Friday or bruised friday?

So according to history….

image

BLACK FRIDAY originated in Philadelphia, where it originally was used to describe the heavy and disruptive pedestrian and vehicle traffic that would occur on the day after Thanksgiving. Use of the term started before 1961 and began to see broader use outside Philadelphia around 1975. Later an alternative explanation was made: that retailers traditionally operated at a financial loss (“in the red”) from January through November, and “Black Friday” indicates the point at which retailers begin to turn a profit, or “in the black”.

I’ve experience Black Friday back in 2008, wow never again. One of my favourite shops Macy’s was the place I had to go because I knew that I would end up getting lots of bargains, as in previous experiences and history of my shopping so I was feeling quietly confident. I left the hotel room wearing comfortable shoes, check, handbag with strap over shoulder containing credit cards, check and finally the jacket over the handbag 😉 I was ready! Storming down 7th Avenue with husband in tow, he knew I was a woman on a mission and he was prepared for it as much as I was (God bless him!)

As I turned the corner that’s when I saw the people making their way to the same shop, it was in the morning not too early I think it was about 10ish. At this stage I would like to point out that back then I was a bit of a shopaholic (according to my husband that is an understatement!) I pushed the thirty odd year revolving door my whole body tensed in anticipation of what was about to….I gasped as I stepped in.

image

The heat was unbearable, and I wasn’t even talking about the warm air pumping through above the doors. I have literally never ever seen so many people in my life, I didn’t even turn to see my husbands reaction because I knew what his reaction was because if I was horrified he would probably need a chocolate fix soon!

I couldn’t do it, my life that instant turned around I know I love a bargain or two or three….and I sometimes wonder why we all pay full price for goods but I couldn’t do it. As I felt him hold my hand (and yes I checked it was him and not Macaulay Culkin), then I moved towards any space near any exit. I couldn’t turn round and go back the way we came because of the amount of people coming in, luckily there was an exit clear near the men’s underwear section. I knew there was a diner around the corner so I dragged him with me and as we entered and sat in a booth and I ordered two coffees and some cake he sat there in shock looking at me a sarcastic grin growing across his face.
“What?” I asked him.
“I thought you’d been possessed when you WALKED out of Macy’s!”
That’s why my husband is the only one who understands why I don’t enjoy the sales anymore and that the shopping in the UK will never ever compare to shopping in New York, until today…..

imageHope you’ve all kept safe during this Black Friday/Saturday/Sunday/weekend/whatever they want to call it x

