The Detectives Daughter, Lesley Thompson

Unknown-1Kate Rokesmith’s decision to go to the river changed the lives of many.   Her murder shocked the nation. Her husband, never charged, moved abroad under a cloud of suspicion. Her son, just four years old, grew up in a loveless boarding school. And Detective Inspector Darnell, vowing to leave no stone unturned in the search for her killer, began to lose his only daughter.

The young Stella Darnell grew to resent the dead Kate Rokesmith. Her dad had never vowed to leave no stone unturned for her.   

Now, thirty years later, Stella is dutifully sorting through her father’s attic after his sudden death. The Rokesmith case papers are in a corner, gathering dust: the case was never solved. Stella knows she should destroy them. Instead, she opens the box, and starts to read.   

A tense, evocative thriller set on the freezing banks of the Thames. A woman reconnects with her dead father by solving the murder case that obsessed him in life.

imagesI started to read this last year after a friend recommended it, well that’s a lie actually I downloaded it and started to read it with every intention of finishing it after deciding that I needed to open my mind to other genres (as you may already be able to tell I’m just a chick lit, comedy and love kinda a gal) but I couldn’t get into it.  Them someone at a BBQ last year said they had just finished it and said how good it was, so I picked it up again.  Before you ask, yes, yes, yes it’s taken me eighteen months to read this, but I can explain before you wonder why I read slower than a snail moves….
I found this story really hard to get in to for a number of reasons, one of them being because it was the genre of crime and thriller.  I found it hard getting into the right mood for this, I’m such a positive happy person and found this book not putting me in a bad mood but I found it quite dark.
The book was really well written, but in some parts I wondered if there was a little too much detail and felt like I was reading a crime report and not a novel in some parts.  This may be the way the author writes her books, but as it’s the first one I’ve read by her I don’t like to pass judgement only my opinion.  I did find myself skipping parts, a little because I found bits predictable (but sometimes I like that in a story, I don’t always like surprises!) and I also found where it had too much detail in it I got a bit impatient (yeah me, I know…go figure!)
?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????Stella Darnell was one hell of a complex woman, not being able to have a normal relationship was totally because of her relationship with her father and he messed up (sorry only my opinion there!)  I can’t imagine what someone like that has been through as I’ve always has a stable upbringing I felt quite lucky.
There were moments in the book where I wondered if I was reading a crime thriller or a ghost thriller, trying to understand where the ‘host’ came from and wondered if this was some way of saying that certain characters had split personalities or some sort of spiritual meaning.
One of the quotes that made me sit upright was “A true reader understands that the only way to appreciate a story is to read each word, from start to the end.”  I know this was part of the story, but made me feel like the writer was trying to tell me that you had to take in detail with this book.
I would recommend this to anyone who reads crime and thriller books, but it wasn’t for me but I was open minded and gave it a go and enjoyed reading something ‘different’ and excellently well written Lesley Thompson.  I could really imagine myself walking around London in the snow throughout this book, so I can’t say I didn’t enjoy reading it…..magical time of the year!
article-1164212-0645A6240000044D-655_468x332
Leave a Reply

