The Wedding Diary, Margaret James

UnknownWhere’s a Fairy Godmother when you need one?

If you won a fairy-tale wedding in a luxury hotel, you’d be delighted – right? But what if you didn’t have anyone to marry? Cat Aston did have a fiance, but now it looks like her Prince Charming has done a runner.

Adam Lawley was left devastated when his girlfriend turned down his heartfelt proposal. He’s made a vow never to fall in love again.

So – when Cat and Adam meet, they shouldn’t even consider falling in love. After all, they’re both broken hearted. But for some reason they can’t stop thinking about each other. Is this their second chance for happiness, or are some things just too good to be true?

 

Soooooo after reading the previous book, I needed light hearted comedy with a bit of love thrown in.  Cheese is what I needed, but I wasn’t talking about brie, PLUS we were in Lanzarote not the south of France!  Margaret James wrote this beautifully and I specifically loved the way she described each character.  Catherine (Cat the nickname was cute, but it made me think of my friend Kat who is nothing like this character!) Aston, oh god bless her the girl that everyone gets on with although not good at making decisions at first, seems to me like she has a part of her that wants to be a tom boy working in a recovery yard (I think that’s what they call it) basically she works in a yard where members of the public and trade (did I just make that up?) come and get old stuff like specific tiles (THAT’S in the story) and a special type of chimney for a protected house (oh yeah and watch out for that one too!)
reclamation-yard-stroud
She gives her flightly, commitment phobe ‘mobile phone salesman/comedian’ a chance to decide what he wants?  Pah, she was being too generous but I guess when you love someone what else can you do apart from Pine. After. Them.  Unfortunately the boyfriend (who actually was the fiance, yeah I know right?!) has other ideas, which I cannot go into because obviously that would give the story away.  cern-1
Then comes along Adam, gotta love an Adam in your life, over spending, low maintenance and LOADED.  But does Cat notice any of this?  Now, now, now, I hear you cry, this would not be a love story if they didn’t have the ‘other’ guy who can’t help himself by being discreet about his feelings (just spit it out already!) and spends too much money, yes seriously you need to spend that much on tiles.  BUT when it comes to holidays and breaks, he knows the best places to go, and I was a little jealous……well Italy is a beautiful country…..
I do love a happy ending, but part of me kept wondering if it did go wrong who would end up with who?  I think that perhaps I was reading too much into it, that it is possible for something to be as straight forward as boy meets girl, they fall in love, fall out of love, hate each other then……
If you like a love story with a happy ending, get curled up and read this.  If you don’t like sickly sweet, then recommend it to someone else.

CT Fountain 1830

Leave a Reply

