Shopaholic to the Stars, Sophie Kinsella

Becky Brandon (nee Bloomwood) is in Hollywood! It’s as if all her life has been leading to this moment. She’s hanging out with the stars … or at least she will be, when she finally gets to meet movie superstar Sage Seymour, whom husband Luke is now managing.

1230147.large

There’s so much to see and do! And getting Minnie through the hurdles for her A-list Hollywood pre-school will require some…er…help.

Becky sets her heart on a new career – she’s going to be a celebrity stylist. Red carpet, here she comes! But Becky soon finds it’s tough in Tinseltown. Luckily her best friend Suze comes over to keep her company, and together they embark on the Hollywood insider trail. But somehow…things aren’t quite working out as they’d hoped.

Then Becky’s big chance comes, and it’s an opportunity that money can’t buy. But will it cost her too much?915CO5FUYGL._SL1500_

Now if there’s one thing I’ve learnt from these series of books it’s that whatever you’re doing and however you’re feeling these are a sure pick me up!  You would think after writing six of these stories it would show (due to boredom perhaps? or not being able to think of new things to add to this Becky Bloomfield’s life?!) but it doesn’t and I do love the fact that if you can’t remember what happened in the last series and in fact it doesn’t matter because the story not only reminds you (throughout the book there are snippets of previous series) but I found that the further I got in the book the more I remembered Becky and what her personality was like, like a close friend I’d not seen in a very long time.sparkly

Another new story to uncover, the only thing I found hard was finding time to read this….but that’s another story in itself!  The result of this story is why teenagers watch MTV and read the fashion magazines wanting to be their idol, I can imagine Becky to be one of those girls who would cut out clothes from magazines and papers and stick them in a scrap book (yes I did that too).

tumblr_static_layout-content-fashion-collage

**Spoiler alert** Trying oh so hard for her break one day to dress a celebrity her patience pays off,  well almost, but then it came crashing down when she realises that working in the celebrity world wasn’t  cracked up to what it was supposed to be.  I hate to say it, but I kind of figured it may be like that.**Spoiler alert over**

Reading this made me feel like Sophie wrote this was like she was there, like she lives/lived the dream and told her story but through Becky and I loved it.  All the ups and downs (mainly platforms, pumps and clutch bags) and all the downs **Major spoiler alert!**(arch enemy Alicia bitch returns in this series and nearly ruins everything Tarkie not adjusting to the LA life (bless him, I just want to give him some sandals and socks) **Major spoiler alert over!**97609e8ebf55c5823bf898499c57be59

I love that Minnie is just like her mum, unlike her sensible dad who shakes his head a lot!  (It must be a man thing because my husband does it too 😉)  and I’m hoping that her dad will rub off her eventually as there’s only so many pairs of shoes that a little toddler can have!  Luckily with Suze by her side she helps makes sure Becky’s feet stay firmly on the ground.  I relate to both these characters, although I would be star struck if I saw a Sage Seymour (and by the way fab name) of course but then if I was asked to keep a secret I really would. (oops have I said too much?!)

14_04_08_4

 

I know doing this review won’t make any difference to the people that already read Sophie Kinsella, her writing is unforgettable and impeccable (in my opinion) and I hope she never stops, but if you’ve never read any of hers, firstly where have you been? and secondly start from the beginning because I promise you, if you like chic lit genre you will adore this!

**Spoiler alert** Now I have to wait for the next instalment!  Damn I hate a cliff hangers!!!!  **Spoiler alert over**

51yn8UPvuhL._UY250_51-0SPdiUsL._UY250_51ChnOHOLWL._UY250_51JrSZCgzEL._UY250_51iPm9nmA0L._UY250_51eNq7Uzd-L._UY250_

 

