The year I met you, Cecelia Ahern

So I have little time to read nowadays giving myself more hobbies to contend with, working full time and a husband to look after most of the time (aha, he will find this funny…honestly!)

So the time I do have I like to pick a book that I know that I will enjoy and Cecelia Ahern didn’t fail that either…

23350724

Jasmine loves two things: her sister and her work. And when her work is taken away she has no idea who she is.

Matt loves two things: his family and the booze. Without them, he hits rock bottom.

One New Year’s Eve, two people’s paths collide. Both have time on their hands; both are at a crossroads. But as the year unfolds, through moonlit nights and suburban days, an unlikely friendship slowly starts to blossom.

Sometimes you have to stop still in order to move on…

Original and poignant, The Year I Met You will make you laugh, cry and celebrate life.

Hello-neighbour

So picture this, Jasmine lives in a culd-de-sac, in a house by herself and yes she earns big bucks which is why she has it, although she got made redundant….ahem sorry, gardeners leave!  For those of you that don’t know gardening leave describes the practice where an employee leaving a job – having resigned or otherwise had their employment terminated – is instructed to stay away from work during the notice period, while still remaining on the payroll.  I’m happy to say I’ve never been on gardening leave, and I think it’s fair to say that that is a good thing!

To be totally honest, I cannot remember what number Jasmine lives at (number 9 seems to be stuck in my head for some reason) and I’m sure that there is less than a dozen houses in the street.

She has two neighbours that she sees regularly and that is Matt ‘intrusive, repulsive, unpalatable, foul, nasty and vomitous DJ’ Marshall (her words not mine) across the street (his personal habits leave a lot to be desired, but for Jasmine this is entertaining plus it does add more to the story.

Then there is Dr Jameson, little old man who knows everything about everyone in the street (I have a father-in-law like this), he comes across a lovely chap that simply wants the company.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For most of the book these two characters simply not only shape the story line but also they do Jasmine justice, I say this because when I started reading the book I thought it was going to be all about Jasmine and her working life.  I was pleasantly surprised and pleased with what I read, the more I read of the book the more I’d tried to predict what would happen (god I miss reading so much) but then as I got deeper into her life with her sister, her father and his family the more I just let the story to unfold because no matter how hard I tried I did not see the ending coming and I do like stories like this although they don’t happen very often (which isn’t a bad thing but it makes you appreciate these ones more!)

DownsAssoc_logo

Heather (her sister) is an extremely large part of her life, she has Downs Syndrome.  I have never known anyone with Downs Syndrome unfortunately so knew little, but what Cecelia did and how she had painted the picture clearly and beautifully how this young girl with DS grew into an independent woman and less dependant on her sister (much to her disappointment).  I won’t say anymore because I don’t want to give it away, but I did have a couple of moments where I had ‘happy’ tears.

This story made me feel warm and fuzzy, even though it doesn’t start like this and I ask you to read this if I was giving scores here it would be at least 90%.

tumblr_mkg3eziMve1rf0qbdo2_250

Lovely story Cecelia, looking forward to the next one…..

