Excess all areas, Mandy Baggot

When I found another Mandy Baggot book on Amazon I had to download after the last one I read by her Do you remember?. Admittedly when I saw the title I did wonder how explicit it would be but it was far from it, the title represents someone in a high profile life in the movies! 

When the going gets tough Freya Johnson gets going! 

Humiliated by her boyfriend the day she turns thirty, Freya boards a last minute flight to Corfu to visit her best friend Emma. Little does she know – this holiday will change her life forever. 


Enter Hollywood film star Nicholas Kaden whose entourage is stirring up the village of Kassiopi while filming his new movie. He’s hot, he’s unexpectedly different, but is he for real? 


Caught up in a media frenzy, feeling unwelcome and uncomfortable in Nicholas’ movie world, Freya battles with the ghosts of her past and the uncertainty of her future. Can she help Emma, keep her own big secret and find out what Nicholas is hiding, before she feels the urge to run away again?

Freya Johnson is a bubbly girl who reminds me a lot of myself, her humour and her general outlook on life. The fact that she has a laugh and joke but on the inside ‘it’ hurts.

 As soon as a realised I gasped, because she hides her lack of confidence well in her humour, and the fact that she is overweight and feeling low about it.

There is always the person who makes you feel that what you look like isn’t an issue, that friend, family member or even lover who enjoys your company so much that it doesn’t matter what you look like and reading this made me realise that getting hung up about looks is superficial and can damage the way you feel.


I really want to know if Agatha’s shop is a real place because if so I really need to check this place out being a shopaholic!!

Everyone should have an Emma in their life no matter what his or her name is, big up to those people and please read this book, it’s brilliant and I shall look forward to reading the follow up ‘public property!’

