Shopaholic to the rescue, Sophie Kinsella

Becky Brandon (née Bloomwood) is on a major rescue mission! Hollywood was full of surprises, and now she’s on a road trip to Las Vegas to help her friends and family.

She’s determined to get to the bottom of why her dad has mysteriously disappeared, help her best friend Suze and even bond with Alicia Bitch Long-legs (maybe…).

As Becky discovers just how much her friends and family need help, she comes up with her biggest, boldest, most brilliant plan yet! So can she save the day just when they need her most?

sttr

I feel like I’ve been waiting for this book forever!  Ok that’s a slight exaggeration!  Only because as soon as Sophie’s books are published I’m there downloading it, but then I struggle finding the time to read it.  Although this time I’ve got lots of time because I’m off my feet for a while due to personal health (I won’t bore you!) so as soon as I had the chance I was there with my nose in my kindle/iPad/iPhone (seriously, every free moment I had!)

I did wonder how it would follow from the last ‘Shopaholic to the Stars’ especially after reading the last cliff hanger (which has never happened before now!)  I was slightly surprised how creative the story was, but thought it was quite a bit far fetched at times.  I thought I knew Becky and Luke quite well after all this time but it seems even their characters were a bit ‘off’.

I did like how it kept me reading, but I sometimes felt that I was reading more out of loyalty for this series of books rather than pure enjoyment.  I’ve enjoyed previous ones more and did feel that this is being pulled through (in a way that was because of the series not the story).  I wonder if they’ll be anymore, because unless something amazing happens (and I don’t mean Becky having another baby, although maybe she adopts because she can’t have children?)  Who knows but her life I pretty much normal now, can anything more complicated go in her life?  Sorry to sound cynical.

b3aa1ukfdfam0

The characters and comedy of the story did not dissappoint though, still Beckys’ antics gave me a giggle and Alicia ‘Bitch Long Legs’ is back in it and we all love that character that no one likes that adds the extra (slight) action to the story line.

I think if you’re already a fan of Sophie Kinsella, then you’d more than likely enjoy it as long as you don’t expect too much.  I loved where it was set, and it’s got me wanting to go back to America again which I don’t think will please my husband (as it costs so much to go over there!)

5me9j9hbsjyrk

 

