The woman who stole my life, Marian Keyes

One day, sitting in traffic, married Dublin mum Stella Sweeney attempts a good deed. The resulting car crash changes her life.

For she meets a man who wants her telephone number (for the insurance, it turns out). That’s okay. She doesn’t really like him much anyway (his Range Rover totally banjaxed her car).  But in this meeting is born the seed of something which will take Stella thousands of miles from her old life, turning an ordinary woman into a superstar, and, along the way, wrenching her whole family apart.

Is this all because of one ill-advised act of goodwill? Was meeting Mr Range Rover destiny or karma? Should she be grateful or hopping mad?  For the first time real, honest-to-goodness happiness is just within her reach. But is Stella Sweeney, Dublin housewife, ready to grasp it?

I’m not a fan of hospitals (probably like most people) I’ve been lucky enough to only have one stay in my local one and that was for 2 nights, so huge amounts of sympathy to anyone who has been in any longer than that!  Stella was in hospital for a long time and for a while as I was reading it I did wonder where this was going to go, I had a few moments when I would stop reading and read something else in between, manily because of it being set in a hospital for the first large amount of the book. It was broken up with flashbacks but I found it a bit too much to take in, but once I started to understand the illness it became easier to read.

When I started to get into the story, I enjoyed meeting all the characters.  I always try and think about my favourite character and why, in this case it’s Dr Mannix Taylor but I don’t want to give my reasons why because it may give the story line away but I will say this….he was a very loyal man (reminds me of my husband actually!)

The characters definately made this book, there’s a few of them but not too many (not for me anyway) it’s what makes the story more interesting.  I did wonder if this was all a bit cliche but the further I got into he story the more I realised that it wasn’t and it was written beautifully, as expected from Marian! (No we’re not on first name turns, but how great would that be!!)

This story wouldn’t have ended so well if it wasn’t for Georgie Taylor (she had to get a mention) she knew everything that went on and she knew Stella so well all along and I’m glad she came back into the story at the end because I did kind of miss her when Stella went to…..nope!  I can’t say, it would totally give the story away.  The whole book had all my feelings going on, sympathy, anger, humour and more importantly hormones (read it and you’ll find out!)  It may have taken a while to get into, but Marian has successfully done it again and she’s the reason I got into writing (well her and Judy Blume!)

If you’re not doing anything the weekend or you fancy having an easy and relaxing one, get on and download this it’s a read you won’t regret!

nfa61gs9qkz68

 

 

AND if you are busy the weekend, enjoy it!!

dujtofs3pw5xy

